WCPS Names 2018-2019 Teacher, Assistant Principal, and Principal of the Year
This is the image for the news article titled WCPS Names 2018-2019 Teacher, Assistant Principal, and Principal of the YearRosewood Elementary music teacher, Denise Tilden, has been selected as the Wayne County Public Schools (WCPS) 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made Thursday night at the WCPS Teacher, Assistant Principal, & Principal of the Year Banquet held at Walnut Creek Country Club.

Mrs. Tilden has five years of teaching experience, with four year at her present school. She says that she feels passionate about the power that teachers and music can have in bringing healing to the world.

“Music is such an important part of the curriculum because it provides opportunities for all students to experience success,” states Mrs. Tilden. “Music creates a sharing shelter in classrooms, when in a moment of time, everyone regardless of ability, is working together to create a beautiful sound. For one moment, everyone is safe, and everyone is accepted, and this is how we transform the world: one moment at a time. Together.”

Mrs. Tilden will now advance to the regional Teacher of the Year program. In addition, as the WCPS Teacher of the Year, she will receive a local $2,500 award. The district’s Teacher of the Year finalists, Pamela Johnson (Eastern Wayne Middle) and Holly King (Southern Wayne High) will each receive a $1,500 award.

 Mr. Joyner named APOY
Following the announcement of Teacher of the Year, the WCPS Human Resources Department and the Wayne County Principals and Assistant Principals Association (WCPAPA) named Grantham Elementary assistant principal Bill Joyner, the WCPS 2018-2019 Assistant Principal of the Year. Mr. Joyner will receive a local $1,000 award.

 Dr. Moore named WCPS Principal of the Year
Charles B. Aycock High principal, Dr. Earl Moore, was named the WCPS 2018-2019 Principal of the Year, as part of the Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year program. Dr. Moore will receive a local $1,500 award and will represent the district in the regional Principal of the Year program, and possibly the state competition next spring.

“We congratulate all of the award winners in these competitions,” states Dr. Michael Dunsmore, WCPS Superintendent. “Being named district Teacher, AP, and Principal of the Year is a huge honor for these education professionals. We congratulate all three for their achievements and wish both Mrs. Tilden and Dr. Moore the very best in the next stage of their competition programs.”
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.