Article View

WCPS to Hold 2019 All County Choral Festival

More than 260 student vocalists from Wayne County Public Schools (WCPS) will soon come together in one voice to showcase their musical talents in an evening of performances. On Tuesday, April 16, the school district will hold its 2019 All County Choral Festival at 6:00 PM at Goldsboro High School. The event is free to the public to attend. Twenty-six schools will be represented.

Organizers say the event is one the district and school communities look forward to each year, and that it could not be held without the hard work of the participating students, assisting music/choral teachers, and guest conductors.

The All County Choral Festival will be divided into three programs, which will be performed by elementary, middle, and high school students. An accomplished professional will direct each talented group of singers. The elementary school chorus will be directed by Raychl Smith, assistant professor of music education at East Carolina University. The middle school chorus will be directed by Marshall Butler, Jr., choral teacher at North Raleight Christian Academy. The high school chorus will be directed by Eddie Adams, chorus teacher at Millbrook High School. WCPS Video & Digital Marketing Specialist, Steve Smith, will serve as the Master of Ceremonies.

Choral Directors from each school selected the participating students for their vocal ability and work ethic. Musical selections will include Firefly, John Henry, Uno, Dos Y Tres, Song for a Pirate Child, Benedictus, The Cuckoo, For Good, Bonse Aba Andrew Fischer, Gloria from the Heiligemesse, Hine Ma Tov, Good Night, and Sisi Ni Moja.

The following WCPS music teachers and chorus directors have worked for weeks preparing students for this event: Clayton Griffin of Brogden Middle, Johnice Johnson of Brogden Primary, Hannah Moore of Carver Elementary, Kevin Alston of Carver Heights Elementary, Rico Dawson of Charles B. Aycock High, Caleb Sasser of Dillard Middle, Weil Sawyer of Eastern Wayne Elementary, Raven White of Eastern Wayne High, Kenneth "Skip" Morris of Eastern Wayne Middle, Cierra Ried of Fremont STARS Elementary, Victoria Ruffins-Atkins of Goldsboro High, Jaime Cox of Grantham Elementary & Grantham Middle, Winnie Wong of Greenwood Middle, Matilda Marriner of Meadow Lane ElementaryDeante Thomas of Mount Olive Middle, Denise Dupree of North Drive Elementary, Cullen Jarman of Northeast Elementary, Sharon Caughron of Northwest Elementary, Tiffany Kilgore of Norwayne Middle, Denise Tilden of Rosewood Elementary, Lisa West of Rosewood High & Rosewood Middle, Lynne Rose of Spring Creek Elementary, Olivia Willie of Spring Creek Middle, Jason Cox of Southern Wayne High, Daniel Kilgore of Spring Creek High, and Ashley Faulk of Tommy’s Road Elementary.

Print This Article
© 2019. Wayne County Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website