Article View

WCPS Volunteer of the Year/Partner in Education Awards

This week, Wayne County Public Schools (WCPS) presented its 2018-19 “Terry Eugene Pilkington Volunteer of the Year Award” to Derek Hagedorn, an Eastern Wayne High volunteer, during a district reception held at the WCPS Professional Development & Family Engagement Center.

Mr. Hagedorn has invested approximately three hundred and forty volunteer hours supporting students and staff by managing the scoreboard for the school’s soccer programs, serving as a test proctor, assisting with school beautification efforts, securing donations of computers and furniture for classrooms, helping setup classrooms at the start of the school year, stocking and helping manage the concession stand for athletic events, and serving wherever needed. It is worth noting that Mr. Hagedorn has lent his time and talents to the school as a volunteer for the past 26 years

“Derek is one of those rare individuals who cares more for others than himself,” says Lee Johnson, EWH principal. “He faithfully and in a sacrificial manner gives his time and sweat equity to make the school a better place to teach, learn and participate in extra-curricular activities.”

The WCPS Volunteer of the Year Award is given in memory of Terry Eugene Pilkington who worked for the district for 20 years. During that time, he coordinated the Volunteer of the Year program and believed strongly in the spirit and importance of volunteering.

The list of 2018-19 school Volunteers of the Year include: Jane Allen Beaman, Brogden Middle; Sharon Smith, Brogden Primary; Brooke Broadway, Carver Elementary; Anthony Goodson, Carver Heights Elementary; Shawn Harris, Charles B. Aycock High; Emily Peacock, Dillard Middle; Beverly Foss, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Derek Hagedorn, Eastern Wayne High; Alma Rivera Donato, Eastern Wayne Middle; Karla Carter, Edgewood Community Developmental School; Marcia Mooring, Fremont STARS Elementary; Delavisha Faison, Goldsboro High; Rhianna Sykes, Grantham Elementary; Sandra Purvis, Grantham Middle; Kristin Brown, Greenwood Middle; Ruth Ann Showinka, Meadow Lane Elementary; Dwayne McKay, Mount Olive Middle; Walter Ham, North Drive Elementary; Grayling & Vivian Ann Batchelor, Northeast Elementary; Marsha Boyett, Northwest Elementary; Shelley Radford, Norwayne Middle; Jessica Jefferies, Rosewood Elementary; Pamela Adkins-German, Rosewood High; Bobby Clayton, Rosewood Middle; Judy Johnson, Southern Wayne High; Dee Overman, Spring Creek Elementary; Allen Nichols, Spring Creek High; Shonda Outlaw, Spring Creek Middle; Susanna Miller, Tommy’s Road Elementary; Kim Klages, Wayne Early/Middle College High School; Mark Helms, Wayne Academy; and Michael LeVan, Wayne School of Engineering.

At the reception, school officials also recognized its top Partners In Education. Since 1995, the Partners In Education (P.I.E.) program has allowed businesses and organizations to make significant contributions to schools by donating time, expertise, materials and funds. The district currently has more than 180 Partners In Education. The P.I.E. Steering Committee Chair, Rev. Adam Seate (Garris Chapel United Methodist Church), presented the awards.

The annual P.I.E. Awards are given in the following categories – Small Award (business/organization with 1-15 employees or members), Medium Award (15–50 employees or members), and Large Award (more than 50 employees or members).  

Steve Sutton - Farm Bureau Insurance, which was nominated by Northeast Elementary, received the award in the small partner category. Second Birth Christian Ministries, which was nominated by Dillard Middle, received the award in the medium partner category. Falling Creek United Methodist Church, which was nominated by Grantham Elementary, received the award in the large partner category.

Print This Article
© 2019. Wayne County Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website