Find the most current information about New Mask Requirements, School Opening & Closing Times, Staggered Kindergarten Entrance, and more! 


Competency-based courses are offered in eight program areas, with each area having school-based, work-based, or community based learning opportunities.

1.  Agriculture Education
2.  Business and Information Technology
3.  Career Development Education
4.  Family and Consumer Sciences Education
5.  Health Occupations Education
6.  Marketing Education
7.  Technology Education (Middle Schools)
8.  Trade and Industrial Education

Combined with other academic offerings, the Division of Career and Technical Education assists all enrollees with career goals and high school graduation requirements.  Students are to have a career development plan outlining courses to be taken to meet a tentative career objective and obtain a high school diploma.  The student"s career development plan will include courses from one of the ten Career and Technical Education Pathways.

For more information, see the North Carolina Standard Course of Study Guide 2004-2005 edition. The North Carolina Standard Course of Study Guide is to be used to plan Career and Technical Education programs.
© 2021. Wayne County Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website