Student Assessment/Testing

To examine particular demographic, school and testing data for each district, visit
To review North Carolina Testing Program Required Testing, visit the Accountability section of NCDPI.
WCPS Testing Calendar is available for parents: 2018-19. Note: Adjustments may be made to testing calendar as needed.

Here are the "big" state-required accountability tests: 
•  End-of-grade tests in grades 3-8 in reading and math (EOG)
•  Science tests in grades 5 and 8 
•  End-of-course tests in Biology, Algebra I and English II (EOC)
Students enrolled in kindergarten through 2nd grade are typically given reading assessments every nine weeks.
Students in grades 3 through 8 in North Carolina's public schools spend approximately 10 hours out of 1,025 instructional hours per year taking state end-of-grade tests.
At the high school level, students take a final exam for each course they are taking. So, if a student takes eight courses a year, they would take eight final exams. Among these end-of-course tests, there are three required assessments developed at the state level: Biology, Algebra I (if the student did not take Algebra I in middle school), and English II. These end-of-course tests are final exams in the course. Typically, students take these courses at the 9th and 10th grade.  The proficiency rates on these tests are used as a part of the General Assembly's A-F Accountability System. There are also NCFEs (NC Final Exams) for particular core area courses. 

Glossary of Tests
End of Grade tests: Elementary students begin state testing, or "End-of-Grade" (EOG) in Grade 3. EOG testing continues through all grade levels of middle school. The EOG test includes a mathematics and an English/Language Arts (ELA) portion at each grade level. A science section is included in grades 5 and 8.
End-of-Course (EOC) Testing: High school students take end-of-course (EOC) tests for those courses the state has designed assessments. EOC tests are currently required in English II, Algebra I, and Biology.
VoCATS Testing: High school students take VoCATS tests for career & technical education (CTE) courses, as designated by the state. For more information, contact the Career Development Coordinator (CDC) at your child's high school.
NCFEs: Student take NC Final Exams (NCFE) in designated courses, to include the following high school courses: English I, III, IV; American History I & II, American History: Founding Principles, Civics & Economics; Physical Science, Chemistry, Physics, Earth/Environmental Science. As well, the following, elementary and middle school courses are included: social studies grades 4-8; science grades 4, 6, 7.
© 2020. Wayne County Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website